July 4th Macros

My love for macro photography shouldn’t be a secret if you keep up with my blog. Beautiful panoramas are the stuff motivational posters and Art Wolfe nature calendars are made of, but this style of work isn’t for me. I love to be face deep into a bush looking for the nook or cranny that can grab and hold my attention.

July 4th I went to a state park I love out west in New Jersey – Allamuchy State Park. It has great biking trails, streams and a lake, Lake Cranberry. The sun was high because it was mid-morning to early afternoon when I was shooting so the saturation of color was bleached, but I’ve added a sepia overlay to the photos for tone enhancement.

If I’ve loaded this post correctly, clicking on the first photo will bring up a slideshow instead of the little thumbnails in the post.

Is there a market for my kind of macro? I don’t know, but I still love the process of discovering the world in macro.

Share your thoughts

